Legislature of each province, with the exception of Quebec, is now unicameral, consisting of a Legislative Assembly elected by the people. In Quebec there is a Legislative Council as well as a Legislative Assembly.

## 12.—Provinces and Territories of Canada, with Present Areas, Dates of Admission to Confederation, and Legislative Process by which Admission was Effected

Province,	Date of Admission or Creation			Legislative Process	Present Area (square miles)		
Territory or District					Land	Fresh Water	Total
Ontario Quebec Nova Scotia New Brunswick. Manitoba	July July July July July	1, I, 1,	1867 1867 1867 1867 1867 1870	(30-31 Vict., c. 3), and Imperial Order in Council of May 22, 1867. Manitoba Act, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23,	523,860 20,743 27,473	49,300 71,000 325 512	412,5821 594,8602 21,068 27,985
British Columbia P. E. Island Yukon	July July June	1,	1871 1873 1898	1870. Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871 Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873 Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (61 Vict.,	219,723 359,279 2,184	26,789 6,976 4	246,512 <sup>3</sup> 366,255 2,184
Saskatchewan Alberta Mackenzie Keewatin	Sept Sept Jan. Jan.	1, 1, 1,	1905 1905 1920 1920	c. 6) Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 42) Alberta Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3) Order in Council, Mar. 16, 1918	205, 346 237, 975 248, 800 493, 225 218, 460	1,730 13,725 6,485 34,265 9,700	207,076 251,700 5 255,285 3 527,490 6 228,160 6
Franklin	Jan.	1,	1920	) Totals	541,753 3,462,103	7,500 228,307	549,253 6 3,690,410

<sup>1</sup> The area of Ontario was extended by the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 40). <sup>2</sup> Extended by Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 45), and diminished in consequence of the Award of the Judicial Committee of the British Privy Council (Mar. 1, 1927), whereby some 112,400 square miles of territory, formerly considered as part of Quebec, were assigned to Newfoundland. <sup>3</sup> Extended by Extension of Boundaries of Manitoba Act, 18S1, and Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 32). <sup>4</sup> Too small to be enumerated. <sup>5</sup> Alberta and Saskatchewan now cover approximately the area formerly comprised in the districts of Assiniboia, Athabaska, Alberta and Saskatchewan, established May 17, 18S2, by minute of Canadian P.C., concurred in by Dominion Parliament and Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895. <sup>6</sup> By Order in Council, June 23, 1870, Rupert's Land, acquired under the Rupert's Land Acts of 1867 and 1868, and the undefined Northern Territories were admitted into the Confederation. The original Northwest Territories, mentioned in the Manitoba Act, 1870, were established by the Northwest Territories Act, 1880 (43 Vict., e. 25), the District of Keewatin having been previously defined by an Act of the Dominion Parliament (39 Vict., c. 21). The provisional Districts of Yukon, Mackenzie, Franklin and Ungava were defined in an Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895, their boundaries being changed by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. By Order in Council of July 24, 1905, the area of Keewatin, not included in the Northwest Territories, was annexed to the latter from Sept. 1, 1905. By the Extension of Boundaries Act, 1912, Ungava was made a part of the Province of Quebec, and the remaining area of the Northwest Territories south of 60° N. latitude was divided between Manitoba and Ontario.

The source of the powers of the Provincial Governments of Canada is the British North America Act, 1867 (30-31 Vict., c. 3 and amendments). Under Sect. 92 of the Act, the Legislature of each province may exclusively make laws in relation to the following matters: amendment of the constitution of the province, except as regards the Lieutenant-Governor; direct taxation within the province; borrowing of money on the credit of the province; establishment and tenure of provincial offices and appointment and payment of provincial officers; the management and sale of public lands belonging to the province and of the timber and wood thereon; the establishment, maintenance and management of public and reformatory prisons in and for the province; the establishment, maintenance and management of hospitals, asylums, charities and eleemosynary institutions in and for the province, other than marine hospitals; municipal institutions in the province; shop, saloon, tavern, auctioneer and other licences issued for the raising of provincial or municipal revenue; local works and undertakings other than interprovincial or international lines of ships, railways, canals, telegraphs, etc., or works which,